Giving is receiving

There is so much to be grateful for this week including food, foraging, and friendly neighbours.

It’s been lovely receiving gifted apples, green beans and chicken eggs this week. Plus we picked some blackberries from the bushes on the way to school and used these to make a scrummy muffin cake. 20131002-063736.jpgWe have a community work day soon, our very first. We are looking forward to spending time with other parents & staff to contribute towards maintaining the extensive grounds and the school. We are very grateful that our daughter has a place at the school so being given opportunities to give back feels really good. Its also great role modelling for our child for her to see us getting involved with the school community and being giving of ourselves. I’m volunteering at the school when I’m not out and about working, donating time and skills with administration, reception, and co-ordination bits & bobs.

Hubby has volunteered to donate his (first class) graphic design skills to create a new poster for the school’s Advent Fair in December. This is very exciting and I can’t wait for you all to see the finished product.

Loving this quote on gratitude from a fellow blogger;

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.”
(Melody Beattie)

Now Michaelmas has passed, it reminds me that this time of year is one of endings & renewal. Facing our dragons and moving forward with bravery. It is my favorite time of the year. I always feel a readiness inside to begin again when Autumn arrives.

I’m really enjoying the Forever Living Aloe products this week. Aloe can be used in many ways and I’m using it to detox, something which can be healthy every six months or so. I’m off caffeine, alcohol, sugar, and processed foods. It’s amazing how quickly you can feel the difference during a cleanse.20131002-065313.jpg
Something else I am feeling grateful for right now is knitting. Having rediscovered my enjoyment of this previously childhood craft, I am picking up the knitting at any spare moment. I have set up a knitting corner and love to sit quietly with a cuppa (herbal, of course) and knit. Its good for busy hands like mine and means I can start making clothes for our daughter.
20131002-065819.jpgSending out gratitude to my lovely new friends who exposed me to their own knitting & crocheting by inviting me to their weekly craft morning.

I was so exited I may have gone a bit overboard on the wool though!?
20131002-065732.jpg

This entry was posted in Education, food, Parenting & Family, Steiner, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

